Every Wednesday, I post my sketch of the moment. For anybody who doesn’t know me, that is the sketch (usually from SNL) that I am watching repeatedly at any given time.

This week’s sketch:

Kaitlin’s Instrument– SNL

I know I have said this before, but I mean it when I say that this is my all-time-favorite SNL sketch. Written by the great Emily Spivey (who I wrote about here), “Kaitlin” is the perfect example of a character. All of her absurdity is grounded and truthful, and Amy plays her with so much care and commitment, that you can’t help but have your pants charmed off.

Legend has it that the Kaitlin sketches were created as a way to make Horatio Sanz a straight man for a change, but being such a good friend, Amy took that chance to mess with him and try and get him to break character. As you see her screaming and singing into Horatio’s ear, the fun they are having is palpable. The camaraderie and chemistry between the two is %100 evident, and one of my favorite parts of this sketch is the fact that even when Rick gets tired or annoyed by Kaitlin, you can still sense his step-fatherly-love for her.

I kind of love everything about this sketch. Giamatti is great, Kaitlin’s musical interludes are a ridiculous (in a good way), and it has quotables for days. If you ever want to know what makes me laugh, just click on the link above, and you will have your answer.

