Recently I wrote about lady comedians, and I wanted to revisit the subject…

There are five female comedians who I have looked up to for a very long time. These women are consistently creative, daring, and hilarious without comprimising the fact that they are a woman. Too many times girls feel like they have to be one of the guys, super slutty, or super vulgar in order to be successful in the comedy world, and my girls below show that you can be whatever or whoever you want, as long as you have the chops and drive to back it up. Enjoy… (they are alphabetical)

1) Liz Cackowski– Liz wrote for SNL for a very long time, and you might recognize her from Saving Sarah Marshall, Fat Guy Stuck in the Internet, or The Jeannie Tate Show. Pretty much any sketch you hear me talking about was written by Liz (like the Conda-lies-a-lot sketch, or the Black Eyed Peas Parody, or the Couple that Should be Divorced), and she taught me a lot about finding my voice. Her work tends to be goofy yet grounded, any vulgarity is justified, and it always has heart. I look forward to seeing where her talent takes her.

2) Tina Fey– I think everybody knows by now that Tina is amazing, but I’d like to try and add my two cents to the ongoing praise fest. Tina is not afraid of hard work. She gets an idea and she follows through with it. Half the battle in any creative field is actually doing the work and achieving a final product. As former head writer of SNL, current everything at 30 Rock, and lady in charge of two hit movies, (all while having a baby at home) Tina is a constant inspiration to stay away from the always tempting procrastination station. She also brought ladies back to the Weekend Update desk, which is something I will always be grateful for.

3) Paula Pell– A lesser known SNL writer that deserves a whole bunch of attention… Paula was an unofficial head writer at SNL for a while (I think), and still is on the forefront of the writing staff. She has a hand in almost all the sketches that make it to air, bringing her sharp wit and seasoned eye to the writers table. Paula has made cameos on 30 Rock and Conan, and she is someone that all these other women I am writing about admire and respect.

4) Amy Poehler– We all know and love Amy at this point, present company included. Amy is the reason I decided to pursue comedy. Watching her in the Caitlin sketches (and everywhere after) made that “thing” click in me where I knew what I was supposed to do. She brings such confidence to each character she plays, and even when she is playing herself you can see that she doesn’t hold anything back. Amy has that something special that you can’t put your finger on. She also is a founding member of the Upright Citizens Brigade, bringing longform comedy to New York City, and giving countless people a place to practice, master, and share their craft. You can see her almost every Sunday performing at UCB, and I urge you to go check it out.

5) Emily Spivey– It is logical to follow up Amy with Emily because she has written a lot of what you have seen Amy perform on SNL. Emily wrote a lot/most of the Caitlin sketches, in addition to that hilarious/almost too smart for its own good Sbarro sketch where the wind blows every time the door opens. I like Emily cause she isn’t afraid to go to crazytown, but always finds a way to keep stuff grounded.

